Processor speed question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ProPhotoForums.com Forum Index :: General Technical Discussions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rod
Forum Regular


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 68
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:19 am    Post subject: Processor speed question Reply with quote

Okay, so I'm gonna be getting a new Mac Pro very soon.

Is it worth the extra $1400(Two 2.66GHz) to $2600(Two 2.93GHz) for the faster processors? I don't do video editing.

Opinions??

thanks,

rod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James Cook
Forum Regular


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 85
Location: Saugatuck

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think of it like the speedometer in your car. If you're going 266 miles per hour, can you really tell the difference when you hit 293? In most cases I'd doubt it.

Unless you're frequently working with some very big Photoshop files you're not likely to ever know the difference in those two processors.
_________________
James Cook

Creator of:
METAmachine
FindAPhotographer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
megafunk
Forum Regular


Joined: 23 Feb 2009
Posts: 51
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like that speedometer reference.
_________________
_Blaze Hall
www.megafunk.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rod
Forum Regular


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 68
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. Good analogy!

Does that analogy apply to the quad core vs 8 core?

rod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James Cook
Forum Regular


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 85
Location: Saugatuck

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does that analogy apply to the quad core vs 8 core?


The processors still run at their given speed no matter how many you have.

Considering how few applications can make use of Quad core at present, I have to wonder if you own anything that knows how to use eight.

On Photoshop, the Quad core has better benchmarks.
_________________
James Cook

Creator of:
METAmachine
FindAPhotographer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rod
Forum Regular


Joined: 02 Sep 2008
Posts: 68
Location: New York, NY

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I love your answers! You're gonna help save me $$$
Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gordon Moat
Forum Regular


Joined: 24 Aug 2008
Posts: 259
Location: San Diego & Houston

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

megafunk wrote:
I like that speedometer reference.


There is a Dashboard app that looks like a Speedometer and shows CPU load. The tachometer version shows RAM load. Geeky, but cool. Comes with a Ferrari prancing horse on it.

Anyway, a few things will help you in Photoshop more than a faster processor. First is lots of RAM, second is a fast harddrive, and third is an external scratch drive.

I gave up desktop systems several years ago, and work off laptops. Latest is a MacBook Pro I got in January. I went for the 2.4 GHz processor, since that one offers a power saving mode that offers a slight improvement on battery life. Then I chose the faster harddrive option over the standard choice. Last was to put 4GB RAM into this, though it will hold 8GB RAM. Absolutely no complaints on speed, and I do edit video on this thing too.
_________________
Ciao!

Gordon
====================
Gordon Moat Photography
http://www.gordonmoat.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James Cook
Forum Regular


Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 85
Location: Saugatuck

PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
There is a Dashboard app that looks like a Speedometer and shows CPU load.


I use and like iStat Menus. I have tiny icons on my menu bar showing my choice of cpu load, processor temps, etc.

Quote:
Anyway, a few things will help you in Photoshop more than a faster processor. First is lots of RAM, second is a fast harddrive, and third is an external scratch drive.


A big Amen on the scratch drive

Quote:
Latest is a MacBook Pro
...

Ditto. I've been working on a 3GB image and it shows the strain a bit, but under a gig is fine.
_________________
James Cook

Creator of:
METAmachine
FindAPhotographer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
geek
Forum Regular


Joined: 23 Apr 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 9:53 pm    Post subject: Speedometer Reply with quote

Sorry to hijack, but it's sorta on topic! Can you guys point me to the Speedometer app? I am on Apple's widget page but can't find anything. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubs
Forum Regular


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 303
Location: hermosa beach

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

iStat Pro
http://bjango.com/apps/istatmenus/
_________________
r.c. durston
photographer
http://www.durstonphoto.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ProPhotoForums.com Forum Index :: General Technical Discussions All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum




Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Charcoal2 Theme © Zarron Media